Explore other parts of Pembrokeshire: North - North West - West - South

Historic Places in
North Pembrokeshire

Historic Places in North Pembrokeshire

Cardigan Castle
Cardigan Castle is a magnificent castle which boasts some 900 years of history. It was once captured by Rhys ap Gruffudd who hosted an Eisteddfod, has been visited by King Edward I and Henry Tudor, it has been subject to burning leaving it partially demolished, before being purchased by Ceredigion County Council in 2003 and undertaking serious renovations enabling it to open its doors to the public as a heritage attraction in 2015.
Castell Henllys
Situated in North Pembrokeshire, Castell Henllys is an extraordinary day out for anyone interested in history. With a reconstructed Iron Age Hill fort, Castell Henllys is set in 26 acres of woodland on excavated remains from over 2000 years ago. Particularly interesting is the three large replica roundhouses, the granary and forge.
Cenarth Falls
The River Teifi has made its way through the hard rocks to produce a spectacular series of waterfalls. There has been a Mill at Cenarth at least since the 13th century, the river Teifi surrounding the mill is a well known salmon leap where the fish can be watched leaping up the falls.
Cilgerran Castle
Cilgerran Castle is situated in a stunning location overlooking the Teifi with two massive round towers still standing today. This was first established by the Normans as a ringwork castle and is approximately 800 years old. Entry to this castle is free during the winter months, and is free all year round to National Trust Members and the disabled. Please Note: Dogs must be kept on leads.
Foel Drygarn
Set in the Eastern Preselis, Foel Drygarn (also known as Foel Trigarn) can only be accessed via a footpath, however there is nearby parking. It is the remains of a large Iron Age Hill-fort covering almost 4 hectacres, with three defended enclosures, and three large cairns each three metres in height. Historians state that it is likely to have been a heavily populated fortified village which was built sometime between 650BC and 100AD.
National Wool Museum
The National Wool Museum is set in the Teifi valley, this museum displays the historical woollen industry which once was such a significant part of Welsh culture. See the historically used machinery and view the entire process of turning fleece into fabric with the purpose-built raised walkway. Follow "A Woolly Trail" and give carding, sewing and spinning a go!
Newcastle Emlyn Castle
Newcastle Emlyn Castle is situated overlooking the Teifi river, and is now mostly ruins of the stone building it once was. Believed to have been built using Dyfed welsh stone, this castle has been subject to many attacks up until 1645 when it was blown up with gunpowder during the English Civil War.
Pentre Ifan
Nestled in the heart of Pembrokeshire coast, this cromlech is topped with a 15 ton capstone making it an incredible sight to see. Full of history, this area is where the original Stonehenge bluestones originated. It dates back to the Neolithic era. Please Note: Assistance Dogs only. There is limited parking nearby.
Preseli Hills

Alongside the fantastic Pembrokeshire Coastal Path, the Preselis are also a popular destination for walkers and explorers. Not only do they boast incredible countryside views for miles on end on clear days, but they are steeped in history and mythology. Take an adventure to the historical sites such as Foel Drygarn, Foel Eyr, Foel Cwmcerwyn,Bedd Arthur, Foel Feddau and more. You will see sites with evidence of Iron and Bronze Age heritage. The Preseli Hills and Pentre Ifan to the north are believed by many to be the original site of the Stonehenge bluestones - and there are many legends as to how they were moved!

St. Dogmael's Abbey & Coach House
St. Dogmael's Abbey was founded on the banks of the River Teifi in 1115 for Tironian Monks, before being given the status of Abbey in 1120. Fortunately there are extensive remains to visit today, original 15th Century floor tiles can still be seen along the nave of which the west and north walls stand nearly to their original height. The Coach House is set in the surroundings of the Abbey ruins, and is now home to a museum and visitor centre where they have a collection of carved stones that were once part of the abbey on display.
Strumble Head Lighthouse
Strumble lighthouse, erected in 1908, is actually situated on the small island of Ynsmeicel, reached by a small footbridge on the North West tip of Pembrokeshire, 5 miles west of Fishguard. The circular stone tower is 55ft high and still contains the original lantern. Please Note: The Lighthouse is automated so unfortunately there isn't any access onto the island.
The Last Invasion Tapestry Gallery
Learn all about the last British Invasion which occurred in February 1797 with a 30 metre award-winning tapestry at the library in Fishguard Town Hall. Added storyboards and artefacts are used to help guide your learning, and you can even learn all about the making of the tapestry in their audio visual room!
Y Felin Mill
Adjacent to St. Dogmaels Abbey and alongside a mill pond, this is one of the last working water mills in Wales which produces a range of stoneground flour.
Chat With Us Now! 01437 765 765